If you want to write reviews or upload photos, you’ll need to have a Google+ profile. Your Google+ name will appear with your review or photo and will link to a list of all your reviews.
What content will appear with my Google+ name and who can see it?
- Scores and reviews: Any reviews you write or scores that you provide will be attributed to your Google+ name and visible publicly. Public scores and reviews makes it possible for us to provide high-quality information for all users, and provide you with personalized suggestions based on your preferences.
- Check-ins: When you check-in to a location, you’ll be able share with only certain circles and decide who will see the check-in in their Google+ stream. Since check-ins are linked to Google+, whoever you share your check-ins with will also see your Google+ name.
- Photos: All photos that you upload on Google+ Local will be visible publicly, and will be associated with your Google+ name.
- Old Google Places content: When you move content over from your old Google Places account into Google+ Local, it will be associated with your Google+ name and not your old nickname. During the moving process, you can choose if you want your old reviews and photos to remain public and be attributed to your Google+ identity, or if you want your old content to be private and only visible to you. Unmigrated content will remain public, but be anonymous.
Do I need to have a Google+ profile to use Google+ Local?
You can read reviews and find business information on Google+ Local without ever signing in to your Google+ account or providing any personal information. To check into locations, write reviews, or upload photos, you will need to be signed in with a Google+ account. Once you sign in, you’ll also get personalized recommendations, be able to share information with friends, and see trusted Zagat reviews that are curated from user reviews.